Vendor links go through /go/ redirects. None of them pays us today; if one starts to, it will be marked “(paid link)”. Money never changes which tools we list or how we rank them. How we make money
Abby Connect vs Smith.ai AI Receptionist
What each vendor publishes about price, minutes, compliance and integrations, side by side. Checked Oct 26, 2026. We have not tested either product; every fact links back to its source on the vendor page.
The differences in short
- Smith.ai AI Receptionist has the lower published starting price: Free/month against $164/month for Abby Connect.
- Both name law firms as industries they serve.
- Abby Connect states spanish / bilingual; Smith.ai AI Receptionist does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Abby Connect states after-hours / 24/7; Smith.ai AI Receptionist does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Smith.ai AI Receptionist states crm integration; Abby Connect does not say so on the pages we checked.
Side by side
| Fact | Abby Connect | Smith.ai AI Receptionist |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Human + AI answering service | AI receptionist |
| Starts at | $164/mo | Free |
| Billing model | Per minute (bundle) | Per call |
| Per-minute rate | Not published | Not published |
| Price per call | Not published | $2.00 |
| Included on entry plan | 50 min | 25 calls |
| Overage | Not published | $3.00/call on Free; $2.50/call on Pro 75 |
| Free plan / trial | Not stated | Free plan |
| HIPAA | Not stated | Not stated |
| Languages | Not published | Not published |
| Human backup | Vendor live agents | Vendor live agents |
| Spanish / bilingual | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| After-hours / 24/7 | Yes (vendor states it) | Not stated |
| Appointment booking | Yes (vendor states it) | Yes (vendor states it) |
| CRM integration | Not stated | Yes (vendor states it) |
| Integrations | Not published | Clio, Zapier, Calendly |
| Industries named | Law firms, Home services, Medical practices, Dental practices, Real estate | Law firms |
| Contract | Not published | Month-to-month, 30 days' notice to cancel |
| Checked | Oct 26, 2026 | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Website | Visit | Visit |
Summaries
Abby Connect: Human, AI or mixed receptionist plans billed in Abby Minutes; one Abby Minute covers two AI minutes.
Smith.ai AI Receptionist: Per-call AI receptionist with a free 25-call tier and escalation to Smith.ai's own North America-based live receptionists.
Keep comparing
Sources: Abby Connect listing and Smith.ai AI Receptionist listing, each with the vendor URLs we read. Spotted an error? Send a correction.